top of page


2024                      Winner, Samir Kassir Freedom of Press Award, the EU and the Samir Kassir Foundation

2024-25                 Fellow, Steinbeck Fellowship, San Jose State University

2024                     Winner, The Courage to Write Grant, the de Groot Foundation

2024                     Winner, The Turow-Kinder Award in Fiction, University of Pittsburgh

2024                     Scholar, Returning Participant Scholarship, Bread Loaf Writers' Conference

2024                     Scholar, Tennessee Williams Scholarship, Sewanee Writers' Conference

2024                     Scholar, Maat Scholarship, Community of Writers' Workshop

2024                     Scholar, Student Scholar Fund, Pitt's Center for Civil Rights and Racial Justice

2023                     Finalist, Margolis Award for Social Justice Journalism

2023                     Katharine Bakeless Nason Award in Nonfiction, Bread Loaf Writers' Conference

2023                     Scholar, Tin House Writers' Workshop

2023                     Scholar, Winter Poetry & Prose Getaway by Murphy Writing of Stockton University

2022-23                 Dietrich Fellow, MFA in Creative Writing, University of Pittsburgh


2022—2024          Heinz Fellow, Global Studies Center, University of Pittsburgh


2021                     Finalist, Margolis Award for Social Justice Journalism


2021                     Journalist Fellow, Logan Nonfiction Fellowship


2020                    Writer Resident, Lesser Amman Library, MMAG Foundation

bottom of page